Disasters declared in East

Federal disaster declarations have been declared for a trio of flood-stricken eastern U.S. states.


Federal disaster declarations have been declared for the flood-stricken eastern U.S., with Pennsylvania, New Jersey and New York eligible for federal disaster funds.

Floods struck all three states in early April, and the federal declarations were expected by most disaster responders.

New York’s declaration, which came Tuesday, designated the following 11 counties eligible for federal aid: Broome, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Orange, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Schoharie, Sullivan, Tioga and Ulster.

New Jersey flood damage was also declared a major disaster Tuesday, with the following nine counties eligible for federal aid: Bergen, Essex, Gloucester, Hunterdon, Mercer, Morris, Passaic, Sussex and Warren.

Pennsylvania’s flood-damaged areas received a federal disaster declaration Friday, and the following nine counties were declared: Bradford, Bucks, Columbia, Luzerne, Monroe, Northampton, Pike, Wayne and Wyoming.

In all three states, voluntary and faith-based organizations have been working with federal and state officials to offer both immediate relief and to formulate a long-term recovery plan.

Related Topics:

UT city's water contaminated

Historic city flooded twice in 2 years

Volunteers help MI survivors

More links on Flooding


DNN Sponsors include: